Spell creation/modification rules

Diabolists, Techno-Wizards & Psionicists, Oh my! All things that are Magics and Psionics in all Palladium Games.

Moderators: Immortals, Supreme Beings, Old Ones

Library Ogre
Palladium Books® Freelance Writer
Comment: My comments do not necessarily represent the views of Palladium Books.

Unread post by Library Ogre »

The techno-wizard causes me problems for me than the mystic, because the techno-wizard understands what he's doing.

I tend to use artistic metaphors when talking about men of magic. It's a useful shorthand for understanding how I see them.

The mystic has a small selection of spells that he knows. He can use those spells just fine, but if you try to teach him more magic, he will only learn it when he's ready (i.e. when he's high enough level). In this way, he's like a self-taught musician who didn't learn to read sheet music... he can perform the music he knows, he can come up with new music or imitate it if he wants, but he's not able to freely learn from the work from others... he has to reinvent the wheel every time.

(Personally, I view their magic powers as being tied to their psychic powers... they learn magic by learning "secrets of the universe" from their psychic intuition... but that's elsewhere.)

Techno-wizards are somewhat like the guys on Junkyard Wars. They take existing things and bash them into shape as new things, which serve a function that they have decreed. There has to be a machine which does the work for them, but they are the guiding force in making the machine be what it is. This means they are dependent upon machines for their best effects.
-overproduced by Martin Hannett

When I see someone "fisking" these days my first inclination is to think "That person doesn't have much to say, and says it in volume." -John Scalzi
Happiness is a long block list.
If you don't want to be vilified, don't act like a villain.
The Megaverse runs on vibes.
All Palladium Articles